2024 Fall Pledge Class Namesake Honoree Nominations are Open!

DATE: March 27, 2024 


  • Active Chapters 
  • Sectional Chairs 
  • Operations Council 
  • National Board of Directors 
  • Recognized Alumni Associations 

FROM: Disraeli W. Smith, II, National Vice President 

RE: 2024 Fall Pledge Class Namesake Call for Nominations 


Each year, Alpha Phi Omega selects an honoree after whom to name our Fall Pledge Class, someone who reflects the Fraternity’s Cardinal Principles of Leadership, Friendship and Service.  


The criteria used in considering nominations are: 

  • For nominees whose accomplishments are within the Fraternity (including chapter advisors), we are looking for those who have had a significant and positive impact at the regional level, at minimum, over a sustained period of time.  
  • For those nominated for work outside of Alpha Phi Omega, we are looking for persons who have had a comparable impact at the national level, over a sustained period of time.

While deceased individuals and groups of people or organizations may be nominated, preference is given to living and individual nominees. As we are on the road to our 100th anniversary and Centennial celebrations, special consideration will be given to nominations that connect towards that theme. That said, any nomination related to the Founders will be excluded from consideration this year.  


For your convenience, a listing of previous honorees is included at the bottom of this announcement. 


The 2024 committee membership is: Disraeli W. Smith, II, Chair; Matthew Cross, member; Kimberlie Francis, member; Jessica Lane, Region O Chair Kent Lee, member; Jéri Ogden, Ed.D., member; Ava Raddatz, member; and Robert M. Coop, P.E., Immediate Past National President. The committee will review all applications and make a recommendation to the National Board of Directors at its June 2024 meeting. 


Complete nominations must be received in the National Office no later than May 15, 2024. Electronic submissions may be made to [email protected].

Nominations may be made by any Alpha Phi Omega brother or group (chapter, recognized alumni association, etc.) To be complete, a nomination must include the following information presented in this order: 


  • An introductory cover letter signed by the individual or authorized representative of the group making the nomination. 
  • A brief biographical sketch of the individual or description of the organization being nominated and its work. 
  • Current contact information for the nominee, including address, telephone number(s) and e-mail address (if applicable), and contact name if nominee is a group or organization. 
  • A listing of the nominee’s actions, accomplishments and life experiences that reflect the Fraternity’s Cardinal Principles, and how those items indicate or demonstrate that the criteria have been met. 
  • Any additional information or comments the nominator wishes the committee to consider. 
  • Current contact information for the nominator, including telephone number(s) and e-mail address. For nominations submitted by chapters or other groups of people, names and contact information must be included for at least two representatives. 


The 2024 Fall Pledge Class Namesake Committee looks forward to receiving your nominations. 



1946 H. Roe Bartle
1947 J. Edgar Hoover
1948 World War II Memorial
1949 James West
1950 Founders
1951 Ray Wyland
1952 Arno Nowotny
1953 James Leedom
1954 Daniel Uyl
1955 Dwight Eisenhower
1956 Carlos Romulo
1957 Robert Baden-Powell
1958 Albert Schweitzer
1959 Arthur Schuck
1960 Joseph Bruton, Jr.
1961 John Kennedy
1962 H. Roe Bartle
1963 Arno Nowotny
1964 Herbert Horton
1965 Lester Steig
1966 Frank Horton
1967 James Lovell
1968 Tom Galt
1969 E. Ross Forman
1970 Sidney North
1971 Glen Nygreen
1972 Aubrey Hamilton
1973 J. Franklin McMullan
1974 H. Roe Bartle
1975 Joseph Scanlon
1976 Lucius Young
1977 Life Members
1978 Lewis Jones
1979 Howard Patton
1980 Marion Disborough
1981 Lawrence Hirsch
1982 George Cahill
1983 R. Brittain
1984 Irwin Gerst
1985 Phyllis Tenney
1986 James Dean
1987 Paul Arend
1988 Warren Luzadder
1989 Carl Long
1990 Lorin Jurvis
1991 Kenneth McDiffett
1992 Joseph Scanlon
1993 Earle Herbert
1994 Alex Lewandowski
1995 Philip Prince
1996 Thomas Kean
1997 William Cunningham
1998 Joseph Kuchta
1999 Stan Carpenter
2000 Bob Barkhurst
2001 Robert Hilliard
2002 George Dacy
2003 Ray Hancock
2004 Togo West
2005 Jerry Schroeder
2006 Kate Westlake
2007 John C. “Jack” Jadel
2008 Wilfred M. Krenek
2009 Jack A. McKenzie
2010 James C. Chandler
2011 C.P. Zlatkovitch
2012 Maura Harty
2013 David A. Emery
2014 Kay Hairgrove Krenek
2015 Philip M. Pfeffer
2016 Dr. Fred C. Heismeyer
2017 Dale Penny
2018 Paul Louie
2019 Dr. Allen Wong
2020 Dr. Jamie Conover Stewart
2021 Maggie Katz
2022 William “Damani” Keene
2023 Richard “Rick” Diles II



No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.